Agriculture Land Preservation Advisory Board


  • 7 p.m.
  • First Tuesday of every month
  • 220 S. Main St.
  • 1st Floor Conference Room
    Bel Air, MD 21014


Agendas & minutes

 Agendas are available prior to the meetings. Minutes are available following approval.
View Most Recent Agendas and Minutes


Farming interest

  • John W. Stump, Chair
    Term expires: January 2026
  • James B. Morris
    Term expires: January 2026

Owner-operator of commercial farm

  • Megan E. McMillian
    Term expires: January 2026
  • Jaclyn Ann Trout Smithson
    Term expires: January 2026
  • Jeffrey W. Holloway
    Term expires: January 2026
The Agricultural Preservation Advisory Board consists of five members, at least three of whom shall be owner-operators of commercial farms who earn 50% or more of their income from farming. 

Created by

  • Annotated Code of Maryland, Agriculture, Section 2-504.1


This board, to advise the county on all matters concerning agriculture preservation, is regulated by Section 2-504.1 of the Annotated Code for the State of Maryland. Board members are appointed for a five-year term. No member shall serve for more than two consecutive full terms. 

Duties include:
  • To advise the county with respect to the establishment of agricultural districts and the approval of purchases of easements by the Foundation within the county.
  • To assist the county in reviewing the status of agricultural districts and land under easement.
  • To advise the Foundation concerning county priorities for agricultural preservation. To promote preservation of agriculture within the county by offering information and assistance to farmers with respect to establishment of districts and purchase of easements.
  • To perform any other duties as assigned by the county.