Historic Preservation Commission


  • Carol L. Deibel, Chair 
    • Term expires: May 2023
  • Daniel G. Coates, Co-Chair
    • Term expires: May 2023
  • Dr. Iris Leigh Barnes
    • Term expires: March 2026
  • Philip T. McCall
    • Term expires: March 2026
  • Eric W. Polk
    • Term Expires: May 2026
  • Christina R. Presberry
    • Term expires: May 2026
  • Jacquelyn M. Seneschal
    • Term expires: May 2023

Membership Information

This commission consists of seven members appointed by the county executive and confirmed by the county council. The term of appointment is coterminous with the county executive. 


A summary of their duties include:
  • Conduct an ongoing survey to identify historically and architecturally significant properties, structures and areas that exemplify the cultural, social, economic, political, or architectural history of the nation, state, and county
  • Investigate and recommend to the Department of Planning & Zoning the adoption of ordinances designating properties or structures having specific historic, community, or architectural value as landmarks
  • Keep a register of all properties and structures that have been designated as landmarks or historic districts, including all required for each designation