DES Banner

The Harford County Department of Emergency Services is a multi-component department comprised of the 9-1-1 Communications and Dispatch Center, the Office of Emergency Management, the Hazardous Materials Response Team (HAZMAT) and the Technical Rescue Team (TRT). All four branches have regular, day-to-day functions as well as emergency response functions during and after an emergency or disaster. The department is the EMS operational authority and home to the county’s career-based emergency medical services.

The department and its branches are staffed by public safety professionals, using state-of-the-art technology. Even though each branch has different roles and responsibilities, they share one common goal - to protect and serve the citizens of Harford County.

DES works in partnership with the volunteer fire and emergency medical services, Harford County Sheriff's Office and municipal law enforcement agencies, all fully dedicated and committed to protecting health, safety, and well-being of our citizens. 

Our office takes great pride in providing professional emergency support services, education to the public about emergency preparedness, coordination of emergency response and recovery efforts and collects and disseminates emergency information.

Emergency Operations Center (EOC)

The Department of Emergency Services during an emergency or disaster operates and staffs the Harford County Emergency Operations Center (EOC). It's a command and control center where representatives from Harford County government and its agencies as well as the State of Maryland, the local municipalities, and other vital agencies and organizations continue to run the government and direct resources for responses and recovery operations during an emergency or disaster.

Emergency Preparedness

Emergency preparedness is the responsibility of every citizen, and the Harford County Department of Emergency Services endeavors to educate and inform the public on how to be properly prepared for all types of emergencies and disasters possible in Harford County.
Hurricane season runs June 1 through November 30 in the Atlantic Ocean and Gulf of Mexico. The National Hurricane Center is Harford's primary source for tropical cyclone news and information. Please check out their website, which provides current forecasts, radar and satellite links, storm tracking tools, and tips regarding preparation.