Highway Maintenance District Shops


The Highway Maintenance district shops provide road maintenance and snow removal service for approximately 1,075 miles of Harford County public roads.

Common reports

Districts receive citizen requests for service directly from our administrative office dispatch.

These are usually to report:
  • Debris or dead animals in county roadways
  • Drainage problems along roadways or county rights of way
  • Missing or damaged manhole covers
  • Overhanging trees and bushes along roadways and at intersections that cause sight distance problems
  • Potholes and damaged road surfaces

A highway maintenance worker uses heavy equipment to work on the side of the road.

Staff duties

The district shops, which have geographic responsibilities, are staffed with an average of 17 employees who operate various trucks and road maintenance equipment to:
  • Fill potholes
  • Prepare roadway sections for resurfacing by wedging edges and leveling road surfaces
  • Remove and sweep road debris
  • Repair damaged road sections
  • Replace or adjust storm drain covers
  • Trim brush from roadsides
The districts coordinate specific tasks with our Special Operations section.


Harford County is divided into four districts: the first and second districts report to Superintendent Bill Griffith Jr., while the third and fourth districts report to Superintendent Glenn Dawson.

1st district

2nd district

3rd district

4th district


Hours and contact information

Business hours

  • Monday through Friday, 7 a.m. - 3 p.m.
  • Administrative office, 410-638-3532

After business hours

After 3 p.m. weekdays or on weekends, report road emergencies (stop sign down, tree in road, missing manhole cover) to the Sheriff’s Office at 410-838-6600.

District Locations

District Shop Maps