2015 Historic Preservation Awards

The Harford County Historic Preservation Commission (HPC) announced its 20th annual award recipients during a ceremony at the Liriodendron Mansion in Bel Air. Presented each May in honor of National Historic Preservation Month, the awards recognize individuals and organizations that have demonstrated their commitment to the preservation of the County’s historical and cultural resources.

Preservation Project Award
The Preservation Project Award recognizes significant achievements in preserving, restoring or finding a sensitive adaptive re-use for the county’s built architecture. The 2015 award winners are:
Special Preservation Award
The Special Preservation Award acknowledges groups or individuals whose programming, activities, publications, exhibits, demonstrations or presentations that focus on Harford County’s historic architecture, archaeology, or cultural heritage. The 2015 award winners are:
  • Hays-Heighe House (PDF) for their dedication to promoting education and public history through the following:
    • “Faces of Freedom: the Upper Chesapeake, Maryland, and Beyond”
    • “The Racehorse, the Royals, and the Writer: the Legacy of Herman B. Duryea”
    • The African American Heritage Garden
  • Joe A. Swisher (PDF) for his dedication to promoting education and public history through his interviews on Historic Harford with Joe A. Swisher.
  • Heidi Glatfelter (PDF) for her dedication to promoting education and public history through her book Havre de Grace in the War of 1812 and her contribution to the multi-site exhibit project that told the story of the British attack on the town.
Preservationist Honor Award
The Preservationist Honor Award recognizes individuals, organizations or businesses that have advanced the cause of preservation in Harford County over an extended period of time. The 2015 award winner is:
  • Walter Holloway (PDF) for his dedication and significant contributions as a volunteer to the Historical Society of Harford County.